Road trip to Fairweather Gardens!

Yesterday was a clear, sunny early autumn Saturday,  perfect for  a drive along the edges of the Delaware bay, through beautiful Cumberland county farmland, to the Open House at Fairweather Gardens.   I passed by Victorian and even Colonial-era buildings in old South Jersey towns that have held on improbably through the years.  The scenery was so lovely that getting lost didn’t bother me one bit!  And the gold at the end of the rainbow – Fairweather Gardens – in the tiny town of Greenwich.  I got there with only a few minutes to spare before closing- and even then, the greenhouse were packed with fellow gardeners finding treasures for their late season plantings.  And in a stroke of good luck, I even managed to score some Rhus Aromatica Gro-low.  I’ve been looking for this shrub ever since one of my Longwood instructors recommended it to control the erosion on the stream bank.  Too rainy to plant today (but I get to stay in and watch football all afternoon!).  This coming week will be warm and sunny so I will be able to get the new plants in one afternoon after work.

Leave a Reply

