Winter Cooking: Fragrant White Chili

I’m loving my new All-Clad slow cooker.  Unlike others I’ve had, this one is programmable and immediately launches into ‘keep warm’ mode at the end of the cooking cycle.  I also like the cast aluminum insert, since I can brown the ingredients on the stovetop directly in the insert, and then place the entire insert into the base for cooking.

 All Clad slow cooker with cast aluminum insert (photo from http://www.williamssonoma.com)

Here’s a recipe for a quick and tasty white chili.  It’s fragrant but not overly spicy –  the perfect dish for the end of football season!

  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1 t minced garlic
  • 1 can small white beans or cannellini beans, drained
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1 cup chicken broth (or 1/2 broth and 1/2 white wine)
  • 1 T chili powder
  • 1 t smoked Spanish paprika
  • 1 t ground cumin (or more, to taste)
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1/4 t turmeric

Saute onion in olive oil over medium heat until softened, 3 mins.  Turn heat to medium-high; add turkey and brown.  Lower head to medium again and add garlic; saute another minute.  Add broth, beans and seasonings.  Stir to combine.  Transfer to slow cooker ; cook on low for one hour.  Top with shredded cheese and sour cream or yogurt.

Now I get to spend my favorite Sunday with my honey, eating chili and watching the playoffs.  And if I say, ‘Go Birds,’ well, I’m not really cheating – since this week I’m cheering for the Ravens!

Leave a Reply

