Spring Containers 2012

Last Saturday’s road trip to Delaware, with an impromptu stop at Willey’s Farm (http://www.willeyfarmsde.com/), a wonderful local nursery and produce market, yielded the materials for some lovely Spring containers.

Pansies, herbs and salad greens for Spring containers

Inspired by photographs in magazines and online, I’ve been wanting to make Spring containers combining flowers, herbs and salad greens.   Here,  I used some of my favorite herbs (Rosemary, Spearmint), added some trailers for visual interest (Thyme), and tried out some new plants as well (Arugula, Anise Hyssop).  I made a few for my front step, and a few to give as gifts.

A few containers on the front porch

I also rejeuvenated the Winter containers from my class at Longwood Gardens, (see prior post) by removing the cut greens and adding herbs and flowers.  With the bulbs in full bloom, my Winter containers are now also beautiful Spring containers.  Take a look at the results!

Winter container, redone for Spring

Leave a Reply

